Skip to content

27th Annual Legendary Banked Slalom

After S.I.A. ended in Denver, I decided to leave Colorado with my pick-up full of everything I own and headed out for the Pacific Northwest. Why? Well, everywhere except Alaska and Washington were bone dry, plus ever since I first ventured out here I have fallen in love with the Cascades. On my way, I stopped over at Anthony Lakes Ski Area with Brandon Cocard and some other friends at AirBlaster before hanging out in Portland for some leisure time. After detours to Mission Ridge Resort and Seattle, I finally made it up to Mt. Baker for my favorite event of the year. The Legendary Banked Slalom.

Pike St. Market

After typical bro-downs, I’d stuff my face with food in the start tent; Salmon spread with crackers, salmon tails, fondue,, fruits, piyaya, minestrone, etc. Nights would usually fall victim to beers and stories. This is the 6th year I’ve attended the Banked Slalom and it has become tradition to stop off in Seattle at Pike St. Market and pick up fish for a big NW family-style dinner with friends. Anyways, I didn’t win (or come close to beating Terje) but that doesn’t matter. This is one of my favorite weekends of the year because of the history and roots that the LBS holds within snowboarding. The Banked Slalom, to me, is snowboarding at its very best.

Saying my prayers…

Pat Abramson, the man who first brought me to Baker and showed me why.

Corbin finally decided to come to LBS

Mt. Shuksan poking through

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

