Skip to content

Rocky Mountain High

I’ve had quite a little journey since I last left Colorado back in late January this year. Approximately 25,000 miles later my pick-up equaled close to the same distance as the Earth’s circumference. Back in my home state I quickly felt the urge to head for the hills and continue my fishing mission. After searching out some native Utah cutthroats I figured I would pursue some of Colorado’s very own, so I took a hike. I heard a faint rumor about large Greenback Cutthroats sitting up in a high alpine lake, and I was determined to find out for myself. Miles to walk and fishing all along the way…

To the headwaters I go…

Ahhhhhh yes

These dogs were barking!

I love being outside and enjoying the simple pleasures of life. Often at high altitudes the water’s ecosystem cannot produce large trout, however I found some bigger than average fish high up in the Rockies. However, it was frustrating tying on every fly I had in my box, only to get a quick look followed by a refusal. Who do these snobby trout think they are? It leads me to think I need to work on my presentation some more…

Nevertheless, I found solitude on this busy holiday weekend and while I never landed the “big one,” I caught plenty of fish and enjoyed every minute of it.

