Skip to content

Missouri River, MT // Flat Tops Wilderness, CO

Every year as summer begins to come to a close, I start looking forward to fishing season. Late summer and fall become my favorite time to fish for many reasons- big hoppers and terrestrials, changing fall colors, manageable water levels, etc. For the third year in a row my Dad and I have made a little trek to Montana to meet up with Mike Guerin, a seasoned guide and friend who knows more about fish than most. From salt water permit fishing in the Florida Keys to steelhead fishing in Southeast Alaska, Mike can read fish and understand patterns and technique. With the advantage of a handmade drift boat and the massive fish factory that is the Missouri River, Montana never disappoints.

Hog Heaven

Back in Colorado, the fishing differs from Montana. Here I find myself pushing far into the mountains for smaller rivers, streams and alpine lakes. I like the solitude, the beauty and the adventure of exploring. About 10 years ago I first ventured into the Flat Tops Wilderness on a four wheel drive journey to prime high mountain water. This time I decided to explore a new region in the massive wilderness with my buddy Scott. We hiked, bushwhacked, turned around, moved forward and found fish. While they weren’t the standard hog size that Montana produced, it was great fishing nonetheless!

Rain couldn’t detour us from fishing this excellent piece of water filled with trout, and some very large ones at that…

